Iran

Qormeh sabzi in Iran

Sitting on Persian carpets
eating qormeh sabzi
the ache in my hip
shifts me to the left.
Our Persian is halting
our host’s English is broken.
He recites this poem
a line from Mowlavi (Rumi)
“Of shared heart
or shared tongue
shared heart
is the best”

He says, “Our governments will never bring peace.
When we as people get to know one another; when
I know that your leg hurts when you sit on our carpets,
then we will have peace.”

This insight of our Iranian friend is echoed by a recent
comment by Congressman Lee Hamilton (retired). “I am grateful
for your (Evie and Wally) extraordinary services under the
sponsorship of the Mennonite Central Committee in living
among the Shia Muslims. These personal exchanges are
hugely important in bi-lateral relationships between nations,
especially when the two nations have a long history of hostility.
You are quite right that all citizens can play an influential role
and you have done so. I look forward to benefiting from your
book and my deep gratitude to you.”

Standard

Leave a comment